Moree Clontarf Academy celebrates achievements at annual awards night

Moree Clontarf Academy celebrated the achievements of its students at its annual end of year awards evening last week.

Clontarf Academy staff, students, parents and family members, as well as Tait Toyota and Moree Secondary College’s executive team, attended the awards night, held at Moree Secondary College’s Multipurpose Centre on Friday, November 9.

“The awards night is an amazing night celebrating the success of the Clontarf boys throughout the year,” Moree Clontarf Academy director Eric Faulkner said.

“It was great seeing a few of the parents, grandparents and caregivers in attendance, however it’s a real shame more caregivers couldn't attend the great night of awards, amazing dinner and refreshments.”


Izayiah Bognar (junior campus) and Steven LeMilliere (senior campus) were the big winners on the night, receiving the Academy Member of the Year award.

A special congratulations also went to the five graduating year 12 students, with a special mention to Will Hawker (2018 graduate) who MC’d the night.

The Clontarf Foundation exists to improve the education, discipline, life skills, self-esteem and employment prospects of young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men and by doing so equips them to participate meaningfully in society.​

Mr Faulkner encourages parents of Moree Secondary College indigenous boys to contact him if they are having difficulty getting their sons to attend school.

“We are here to help, with education being our number one priority,” he said.

“With parental buy in, fun and engaging activities, incentive camps and assistance in school, we can achieve amazing results, especially with good attendance.

“I hope to see more local business, and local and state government involvement throughout 2019.”

Award winners

Junior campus (Carol Ave):

  • Academy Member of the Year - Izayiah Bognar
  • Attendance Award - Justin Tapper
  • Most Improved - Jade Girard
  • Clontarf Spirit - Kobie Rutlege, Michael Kirk Jnr and Nehemiah McIntosh
  • Employment - Kaedyn Smith, Jovan Raveneau, Izayiah Bognar, Jermaine Craigie
  • Training awards - Michael Kirk Jnr, Nehemiah McIntosh, Dereik Newman, Justin Tapper, Kobie Rutledge, Daniel Kirkland, Cody Picker, Jade Girard, Izayiah Bognar 

Senior campus (Albert Street):

  • Academy Member of the Year - Steven LeMilliere
  • Attendance Award - Will Hawker
  • Most Improved - Jesse Tighe
  • Clontarf Spirit - Branden Barker
  • Employment - Steven LeMilliere, Josh Craigie, Latrell Newman, Anton Jarrett, Will Hawker, Brandan Rice
  • Training awards - Steven LeMilliere, Josh Girard