Moree Boars celebrate achievements of players, club and committee members at annual presentation night

The Moree Boars celebrated its annual presentation night last Saturday and recognised the stellar achievements of the club’s players, committee members and volunteers.

“All the players were handed their jerseys on the night and they just put them on straight away,” Boars president Mark McGrady said. 

“They were all proud of the past season.”


The ladies league-tag team managed to haul in plenty of awards on the night. Tileah McGrady scored the Best Link Award, Breanna Tighe won Best Middle, Lena Smith earned Top Points Scorer, Sarah Craigie stole Most Dedicated, Jess Wager took home the Coaches Award, Mikka Ewens and Alyssa McGrady shared Rookie of the Year, Lena Smith took out the gong for Players Player and Shai-Lee Smith secured Best and Fairest.

In the Under 18s, Adrian Smith won the Best Back and Best and Fairest awards, Ted Hamilton scored Best Forward, Adrian Smith received Top Points Scorer, Matthew Annis-Brown took home Most Dedicated and Best and Fairest, Jed Carroll secured the Coaches Award, Luke McDonald stole Rookie of the Year and Ted Hamilton walked away with Players Player.

Reserve grade player Tyrone Raveneau took out the gong for Best Back, Stephen Briggs earned Best Forward, Alf Newman kept Top Points Scorer and the Aaron Shearer Award, Aaron Annis-Brown secured Most Dedicated, Justin Smith stole the Coaches Award, Charlie Shearer-Brown took Rookie of the Year and Justin Smith got Players Player.

A-grade teammate Holt Cubis and Joe Wade shared the Best Back Award, Kerrod Sampson scored the Most Improved, Ashley Jarrett took the Coaches Award, Bill Hippi stole Rookie of the Year, Jake Sampson won the Critics Corner Bob Hitchins Award and Jason Humphries took Players Player. Stan Swan pulled in an impressive haul of awards and took home the Top Points Scorer, Coaches and Best and Fairest awards.

McGrady also aimed the limelight at the committee members and volunteers on the sideline, and said their efforts were just as praiseworthy.

“These are the people who have put in the hard yards and helped to make a successful season.”

Erin Livet and Yvonne McNamara received the Ladies Helper Award and Phil Ledingham got Club Person of the Year.

“He [Phil] was there every game day and every training session. He fixed up a few of the players when they were injured, he was there for clean ups. He’s been helping the Boars years. I was good to see the award go to someone so deserving,” McGrady said.

Club secretary Ashlee Johnston was awarded the prestigious Alf Scott Medal, in recognition of her hard work.

“She and Deb Holland have done a fantastic job, just with the running of the club throughout the year and orchestrating the centenary ball and also the presentation night,” McGrady said.

“On behalf of club’s officials and committee members, I congratulate Ashlee on the amount of work she’s done behind the scenes.”

McGrady mentioned there simply weren’t enough awards to hand out to the dedicated members of the club.

“There are a lot of people who work in the background, who might not have been mentioned on the night. There’s always someone in the club who is willing to put their hand up and help the Boars.”

With the season now over, the Boar look to head into the club’s annual general meeting to prepare for next year. McGrady has revealed that he will step down from the role of president. A decision he made with his family at the front of his mind.

“I’ve been involved with the club for four to five years. I’ve loved my time in the position. I’ve worked with some pretty inspirational people, especially Alf Scott, Toddy Mitchell, Kerry McDonald. It was good to work with them. Now, I want to spend more time with family.”

McGrady said that he had every intention to remain involved with the club in some way or form.

“I won’t be disappearing. I’ll be helping in the background, marking footy lines and helping out where I can,” he said.